Africa Travel

World Cup 2014: Keeping It Simple

Today at 4 pm marked the beginning of the 2014 World Cup with host Brazil beating out Croatia. Soccer, or rather fútbol, has always been a sport my family revolves around. Both of my brothers played throughout their lives, while I held down a spot on the “B team” for many years.

The past two world cups, in 2006 and 2010, gave my family unforgettable travel opportunities and memories in Germany and South Africa. After watching countless games and having the world cup games dominate every dinner conversation, I am breaking it down nice and simple to make it easier to understand. If you need more persuading of other reason to watch, check out Vogue’s list of the most attractive soccer players. 

  • The World Cup happens every 4 years.
  • Teams compete in 8 different regions for a spot in the world cup; only 4 teams from each region can go–making up the 32 teams that go to the World Cup.
  • From there, they are randomly put into groups of 4 teams with the groups being Group A-Group H
    •  They use a point system here
      • Win= 3 points
      • Tie= 1 point
      • Loss= 0 points
  • The top 2 teams in each group move on to the “round of 16”
    •  Group A seed 1 plays Group B seed 2
    • Group B seed 1 plays Group A seed 2
      • And so forth
      • It’s instant elimination, and the winners advance to the top 8, and so on until there is on ultimate winner.
      • Spain won the World Cup in 2010.

What’s up with the United States team?

  • They are in the group of death– the most difficult group to get out of
  • The group consists of  Germany, Portugal, Ghana and the United States
  •  US plays Ghana first— their Achilles heal
  • Ghana beat the US in 2010 in the round of 16 to kick the US out of the tournament!

Check out my pictures from the 2010 World Cup in South Africa Below!

xo Kara

Leave a Comment